关于德闳

德闳学校专为中国学生设计,所提供的学术项目由中国国家义务制教育课程和德威国际教育集团的教育理念和教学法相结合而成。

“德闳” 这个名字取自德威的“ 德 ”与容闳的“ 闳 ”。德威是德威国际教育集团的中文简称,而容闳在历史上人称“ 中国留学生之父 ”,是众所周知的毕业于美国耶鲁大学的中国第一人,也是推动中国幼童赴美留学,实现教育救国的先驱。此外,容闳的后人也是德威国际教育集团的创办人之一。

德威国际教育集团于2003年在上海开办第一所学校,迄今为止,已经在亚洲四个国家、七座城市拥有共十所学校。德威国际学校的招收人数仍在持续增长,仅2018年,就有来自60多个国家的将近8000名学生加入德威国际教育,开始了自己在其中的成长。德威的学生学术成绩优异,而且参与艺术、体育等不同项目。在这些经历中,他们有机会发展自我,与世界各地的同龄人相比领先一步。

德威国际学校创始于德威公学,自1619年建校起,德威公学就成为了英国最古老的独立学校之一,拥有学术卓越、改革创新和尊重传统的悠久历史。

德威集团的国际大家庭秉承着创始学校——德威公学400年的优良学术传统,大家庭中的学校以协作的方式积极互动和发展,利用集团中的人才优势和资源来组织活动,进一步强化对内和对外的联系,并共享经历。
 

容闳——“中国留学生之父”

1828年,容闳出生于中国广东一户贫农家。当时,读书是一个农民眼中最不重要的事,容闳的父亲却将他送至澳门一个传教士学校读书。这,标志着容闳留学之路的开始,也开启了他在1854年成为耶鲁大学毕业的第一个中国学生之路。

这一时期的中国被鸦片战争的硝烟大大削弱了国力,动荡不安。然而,容闳却毅然决定回到祖国,为祖国的人民工作。他千方百计,尝试开工厂、兴实业,引进西方科学技术。他渐渐意识到:国家变革的最佳途径之一在于教育革新。因此,容闳说服清政府,派遣幼童留美,学习西方科学和工学。

最终,在政府的批准下,容闳组织了后来得名的“留学教育计划”,自1872年始,将120名中国学生送至美国的新英格兰地区进行学习。这一计划中的诸多学生日后回归中国,为中国的民政、工程和科学发展做出了卓越的贡献。此计划中的著名人士包括:中华民国第一任内阁总理唐绍仪;科技方面,有著名的铁路工程师詹天佑;教育方面,有清华大学前身——清华学校的首任校长唐国安。

这些人和容闳一起,努力改变中国,为中国的现代化之路打下了坚实的基础。容闳也从此被誉为“中国留学生之父”。

容闳代表了:

  • 开拓精神;
  • 爱国精神;
  • 以教育改变世界的精神。

传承这样的精神,正是创建德闳学校的初心。

About Dehong

Dehong International Chinese Schools are designed for Chinese students and offer an academic programme comprising of the Chinese compulsory curriculum combined with the Dulwich College International educational philosophy and pedagogy.

The name Dehong is made up from the elements of Dewei (the Chinese name of Dulwich) and 'the father of Chinese overseas students' Rong Hong (Yung Wing), who is the first-known Chinese student to have graduated from Yale College. He was also a pioneer in supporting Chinese children to study in the United States to reform the country. Additionally, a descendant of Rong Hong (Yung Wing) co-founded Dulwich International College.

Since the first school opened in Shanghai in 2003, the Dulwich College International family of schools has grown to ten in seven cities and four countries in Asia. Enrolment of students at Dulwich College International schools continues to increase as well. In 2018, nearly 8,000 students hailing from more than 60 countries were enrolled and began their Dulwich College International Experience. In addition to achieving academic excellence, students also participate in arts and sports programmes. Their academic and extracurricular opportunities provide experiences that put them one step ahead of many of their peers around the world.

The founding school of Dulwich College International schools is Dulwich College. Dating back to 1619, Dulwich College is one of the UK's oldest independent schools, and it has a long history of academic excellence, innovation and respect for tradition.

The International family of schools benefits from the founding school's 400 years of academic excellence.  Participating in the active network of exchange and development allows us to work together, leveraging our group's unique talents and resources to organize on events, forge internal and external relationships and share experiences.

Rong Hong - ‘The Father of Chinese overseas students’

Picture of Rong Hong

In 1828, Rong Hong (Yung Wing) was born into a poor farming family in Guangdong China. At that time, education was often the last thing on a farmer's mind but Rong Hong's father sent him to a missionary school in Macau. This marked the beginning of his journey to overseas study and in 1854 led to him becoming the first Chinese student to graduate from Yale College.

This period was not easy for China as the Opium War had changed China completely, but nonetheless Rong Hong (Yung Wing) took the decision to return to his motherland to work for his people. He tried many different ways, such as opening factories, building industries and importing western science and technology. In the process he discovered that innovative education was one of the best ways to reform the country. As a result Rong Hong persuaded the Qing Dynasty government to send young Chinese to the United States to study Western Science and engineering.

Finally, with government approval, Rong Hong organised what came to be known as the 'Chinese Educational Mission', which allowed 120 young Chinese students to study in the New England region of the United States, beginning in 1872. Many of the students later returned to China and made a significant contribution to China's civil service, engineering, and the Sciences. Prominent students on this mission included Tang Shaoyi, Zhan Tianyou (Tien You Jeme) and Tang Guo'an (Tong Kwo On).

Together with Rong Hong (Yung Wing), these people worked hard to reform China and laid a solid foundation for the modernization of China. Rong Hong (Yung Wing) has been known as 'The Father of Chinese Overseas Students' ever since.

Rong Hong (Yung Wing) represents:

  • A Pioneering spirit;
  • The Spirit of patriotism;
  • The Spirit of changing the world through education.

This was the origin of the aspiration to build Dehong International Chinese Schools.